From the Richmond Whig, 9/1/1865, p. 3, c. 2

THE ST. CHARLES HOTEL. – The lessees of this hotel are pushing forward with energy the work of preparing it for re-opening early in October. And the work is an almost herculean task, owing to the fact that great damage was done the building during its occupancy as a Confederate hospital. Not a lock, bolt, sash, or pane of glass, that is not to be replaced, nor a door but what needs repairing. But the lessees are not discouraged, but determined to press on to the conclusion of their undertaking. The following chief artisans, with a heavy force of workmen, are employed in the different departments of improvement and renovation: E. J. Crump, carpenter and general superintendent; D. M. David & Company, painters and paper-hangers; Thaddeus Bosher, plasterer; Jacobs & Hooper, bricklayers; and Caudle & Clineley, plumbers. The two upper stories are already prepared for the reception of the furniture. The paper hanging work of Messrs. David & Co. is executed in the most artistic style, and the varied patterns of the chambers are unique, tasteful and handsome.

Go to top